In Texas, drivers must carry auto insurance with property damage and bodily injury protection. Drivers who cause an accident must bear financial responsibility for any damages in the event of a car accident. In most cases, insurance providers pay for the cost of damages caused by the holder of the policy.
To learn more about the minimum coverage requirements in San Antonio, TX, contact our team at Versatile Insurance Planners today.
Texas Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements
The minimum amount of insurance drivers must carry in Texas is $30,000 for bodily injury, $60,000 for bodily injury for two or more people, and $25,000 for property damage for each accident. "At fault" drivers must have these coverage limits to operate a motor vehicle on Texas roadways.
Additionally, drivers must carry proof of insurance in their vehicles. Law enforcement will verify that all drivers have adequate insurance during a traffic stop. If drivers don’t carry their proof of insurance, they’re subject to penalties and fines (especially if an automobile accident occurs).
Drivers can also choose the coverage that offers personal injury protection for a liability insurance policy. However, this coverage is not a requirement. Since liability policies only cover damage and medical expenses of those other than at-fault drivers, a personal injury protection policy would cover some of the at-fault driver’s expenses. Additionally, drivers can add collision coverage to help pay for vehicle damages.
Contact us today at Versatile Insurance Planners in San Antonio, TX, so we can help you learn more about your minimum liability insurance coverage options and the legal requirements for "at fault" drivers.